Event Overview

A thousand trees have been planted in Nordmarka, a forest just outside Oslo, which will supply paper for a special anthology of books to be printed in one hundred years. Future Library is a new public artwork by Scottish artist Katie Paterson that will unfold over the next 100 years in the city of Oslo, Norway. Between now and then, one writer every year will contribute a text, with the writings held in trust, unpublished, until 2114.

The prizewinning author, poet, essayist, literary critic and environmentalist Margaret Atwood (CA) has been named as the first writer to contribute to Future Library. She will hand over the inaugural manuscript and reveal the title on Tuesday 26th of May, Oslo, in a special ceremony that can be viewed by all on Periscope. She and Katie Patterson will sign a numbered limited edition of 50 e-covers for fifty winners, selected through @Twitter requests, using the @fanadoevents app. The story-sharing site @wattpad will run a writing contest involving the title.



When the event goes live the video below will be replaced with the live stream. Click on the play button to start watching the event. Best viewed in full screen.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

3:30 EST/9:30 CET
A Stroll to the Future, Frognerseteren, Nordmarka

4:00 EST/10:00 CET
Future Library Forest. Margaret Atwood Reading.

7:15 EST/13:15 CET
Public Conversation and Q & A Twitter & Signing Session with Margaret Atwood & Katie Paterson, Deichmanske Library, Oslo

To watch the NRK broadcast, click this link



In case you missed it, here are the unedited Fanado and Periscope recordings of this morning's events:




This event is brought to you by: